Rhode Island cannabis business compliance guide

In this guide, we'll cover:
Legally reviewed by:

NY Content Hub ->

Dutchie does not provide compliance advice. Merchants are responsible for their own compliance. External Dutchie compliance documentation may be updated from time to time and has been prepared for informational purposes only, is not intended to provide, and should not be relied on for, tax, legal or compliance advice. Merchants should consult their own tax, legal and compliance advisors to determine how best to operate within the cannabis industry.

Market Type

In Rhode Island, cannabis is regulated by the Office of Cannabis Regulation (OCR) through an advisory board, the Cannabis Control Commission (CCC). Medical and adult-use cannabis is allowed. Rhode Island also allows out-of-state medical patients to purchase medical cannabis as long as they have a valid medical marijuana card, or its equivalent.Β 

Note: Adult-use regulations have not yet been promulgated by the CCC. Adult-use licensees are operating through the use of the Rhode Island Cannabis Act which is the statute that legalized adult-use cannabis and follow medical regulations where relevant. Adult-use regulations are expected to be released in 2024.

Metrc & Inventory

Rhode Island uses Metrc as their seed-to-sale state traceability system. In Rhode Island, medical and adult-use cannabis inventory do not share one inventory and instead are separated from each other.

Purchase Limits


A customer may purchase the following:

  • 1 oz or the equivalentΒ 


  • 2.5 Oz every 15 days

Rhode Island uses a system of flower equivalencies in their medical purchase limit calculation for other product types.

Marijuana Flower Weight

Equivalent Number of 10mgs of THC


Single Serving Units

5 ounces

415 THC single serving units

2.5 ounces

125 THC single serving units

1 ounce

83 THC single serving units

.25 ounces

21 THC single serving units

1 gram

3 THC single serving units

Marijuana Flower Weight

Equivalent grams of Concentrate

5 ounces

38.5 grams

2.5 ounces

19.25 grams

1 ounce

7.7 grams

.25 ounces

1.9 grams

1 gram

0.3 grams

Wet Flower Weight

Dry Flower Weight (20% of Wet Flower Weight)

50 ounces

10 ounces

37.5 ounces

7.5 ounces

25 ounces

5 ounces

12.5 ounces

2.5 ounces



  • 7% State Retail Sales Tax
  • 10% State Excise Tax
  • 3% Local Excise Tax

(taxes are not compounding)

Excise taxes are not imposed on accessories unless bundled with marijuana if sold for one price


  • 7% State Retail Sales Tax

    4% Monthly Surcharge (paid by medical dispensaries to the state, equal to 4% of their gross sales)


Adult-use and medical dispensaries may conduct deliveries..


  • All home deliveries must be paid in advance or through electronic payment at the time of delivery. Non-electronic forms of payment are not permitted.
  • Tipping is not permitted.

Delivery Operations

  • Deliveries are only permitted between the hours of 8 A.M. and 8 P.M.Β 
  • Delivery vehicles may contain no more than $7500 worth of Marijuana products.Β 

Things to Note

  • Advertising:
  • There are strict advertising prohibitions for medical compassion centers. Medical compassion centers may not advertise to the general public and may not advertise on television, radio, or print media. All ads from medical compassionate centers must be restricted to registered patients.Β 
  • Adult-use dispensaries/hybrid operators may advertise including, but not limited to online media, broadcast media, print and outdoor media including billboards. However certain components must be included:
  • The required universal symbol in color;
  • Medical marijuana program (MMP) license number of the licensee; and
  • β€œFor Ages 21+ and medical cannabis patients.”
  • Hybrid retail licensees are encouraged to ensure that the selected advertising medium targets an audience of which 85% of the population is reasonably expected to be 21 years of age or older and shall adhere to the below requirements.

State Resources

The OCR compiles their rules/regulations here; bulletins and guidance can be found here. Hybrid licensees may find additional compliance-related information here

Rhode Island


How much does it cost to open a dispensary in New York?

How long does it take for applications to be reviewed?

How many licenses do we expect New York to issue?

Has New York identified what the application will look like?

How will the office evaluate applications?

By submitting this form, you're agreeing to receive marketing communications from Dutchie. For information on our privacy practices and commitment to protecting your privacy, please review our Privacy Policy.